What I Learned From Clark Kent

https://i2.wp.com/screenrant.com/wp-content/uploads/Clark-Kent-Batman-V-Superman-Henry-Cavill.jpg
Source

Just by wearing glasses, Superman succeeded to trick his fellow journalists in Daily Planet. Not. Nowadays, the movie depicted Clark Kent as cool Clark Kent, not as clumsy Clark Kent as he used to. Back then, the comic depicted Clark Kent as largely passive and introverted personality with conservative mannerisms, a higher-pitched voice and a slight slouch. Clumsy, he often depicted wearing over sized suit.

Source
No need for a detective. Source

From Supeman’s success of hiding his identity as Clark Kent, we can learn that, like it or not, people judge the book by its cover. It’s scientific, it is a cognitive bias called halo effect.

The halo effect is a cognitive bias in which an observer’s overall impression of a person, company, brand, or product influences the observer’s feelings and thoughts about that entity’s character or properties. It was named by psychologist Edward Thorndike in reference to a person being perceived as having a halo. Source

I learned it when I was just graduated and looking for a job. People judge me from what I was wearing and how I looked. True, it’s my right to wear whatever I want to wear, and it’s their right to judge me. Sometimes in life, we have to adapt and stop being selfish. Because I needed job so much, I tried to change my outlook. I want to become my Superman. This is what I learn from Clark Kent.

No Slouching

Source

I once thought that slouching is cool. It was cool people do; Shaggy, Goofy. I was wrong. This infographic said it all.

Source

The best thing to cure slouching is to do work out. It worked for me. I’d do pushups, planks, and pullups. It added mass to my chest and back, therefore I looked straight without even trying.

Lower My Voice Pitch

A lower-pitched voice shows higher testosterone level in man. This is what it means to have higher testosterone.

Testosterone
Source

Man with high testosterone level perceived as more dominant; motivation of an individual to achieve or maintain a high social status. I often lower my voice pitch when I asked someone to do something for me. Or when I talked in a meeting. It sounded more formal and serious. I also noticed a lot of people, without even realizing, did that.

Wear Proper Clothes

Source

As someone who just graduated from college, I didn’t think enough about my clothes. In Indonesia, we don’t wear business suit to interview. It is usually just shirt and tie. I wore off the rack shirt, which was, ill fitted. I tried many brands and chose off the rack brand that fit me well, in terms of cutting and size. I always buy that exact brand and size since then.

 


 

You probably noticed that I used many illustrations and pics in this post. I am trying a difference approach to convey my message. It is more popular, buzzfeed-ish style. If the response’s good, I’ll make a slideshow of it and post it on Youtube. I also want to post the Bahasa version on local forum. Stay tune!

 

One thought on “What I Learned From Clark Kent

Leave a Reply

